Week Two

By: Transforming Pixels

May 18 2011

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/3.5
Focal Length:5.8mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/59 sec
Camera:PENTAX Optio LS1000

 

This is the second week of Transforming Pixels and Melly asked some one from the group to write a blog about the group. I hope that this is how you are meant to write a blog. I volunteered thinking that this might help me reflect on why I am doing the class and also encourage others to share their thoughts. I feel very lucky to be apart of the group and hope to make the most of the rare opportunity.

I have taken what must be over 200 hundred photos in the last week trying my best to get better at taking pictures. I am not sure if I am any better as it seems harder and harder to take a good picture. I wonder how these skills will help my trans community and what story I can capture in my photos. I keep thinking about how is meant to be about capturing light. Trying to capture light well is hard enough but also trying to capture symbolism  a whole other step.

I also find the question of why am I taking each photo a little confronting to the point were I get stuck because some times I do not have an answer. Who would have thought taking photos would require so much planning!

Melly also gave us the task to research 3 photographers. So far I have only been looking into Del LaGrace Volcano. I am very inspired about how they have tried to capture queer in their photos. I have been look through their photos trying to find one that are queer and trans. I find myself obsessed with finding the symbolic words in a picture.

Amanda

 

Leave a Reply

