Week One

By: Transforming Pixels

May 17 2011

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4.8
Focal Length:30mm
ISO:100
Shutter:10 sec
Camera:NIKON D60

Future business. Or whatever it is called that groups do to set the rules of engagement. You know, what happens in the group, stays in the group, mutual respect, only one speaking at a time and so forth. We made a list. Then someone questioned “What about the pronouns ?”
Pronouns have always looked after themselves with me. Sometimes they hurt, other times they elate, but mostly they just are. They can be prompts to be more careful with my gender performance or warm little compliments to say “go girl” or a sign that I’m just like everyone else. Phew !
We are a diverse group. I remember emailing a friend, and in describing Transforming Pixels I mentioned a group of people apparently ignored when normality was being distributed.
Still, after week four, I can’t remember the prefered pronoun for some people, and I’m not able to guess it confidently. Others I know the pronoun but can’t quite figure how it is appropriate.
Thats why its a Gender Queer Group I guess. As an MtF tranny I still find the GQ construct difficult to comprehend and I fear what I don’t understand.
Imagine what the normal community feels, and be considerate.

Reynah


Leave a comment